prof. shahana rasool

Prof. Shahana Rasool

(D.Phil Social Policy –Oxford)
Associate Prof. Head of Department of Social Work
University of Johannesburg, South Africa

Shahana Rasool is a Rhodes Scholar who obtained a Masters and Doctorate from the University of Oxford (UK), Department of Social Policy. She is currently an Associate Professor and Head of the Social work department at the University of Johannesburg (UJ), lecturing in research, social issues, and community development. Prior to coming to UJ, she lectured at the University of the Witwatersrand (WITS).

Shahana has been an activist, researcher, trainer and academic in the field of gender for many years, with a particular focus on gender-based violence. She Shahana has a keen interest in social transformation, which began as an anti-Apartheid activist in South Africa and continued through her work in the NGO sectors, both in South Africa and Australia. In South Africa, she has worked in the field of gender based violence as a social worker, trainer, and researcher. Whilst in Australia she worked in the HIV and AIDS sector, with women experiencing post-natal depression and with immigrant women on domestic violence policies. Her research has looked at the socio-cultural influences of help-seeking as well as responses from formal and informal resources to abused women. Her current research is focused on the relationship between adolescent gender attitudes and exposure to gender based violence. She has international partnerships in the Caribbean, Egypt, Germany, USA, and UK. Shahana is also chair of the Southern African Journal for Social Work and Social Development. She also does consult in the areas of gender, leadership, and transformation.

Conference Convener

Mr. Isanka P Gamage
The International Institute of Knowledge Management (TIIKM), Sri Lanka

Hotline: +94 715 589 870 / +94 777 379 779
TP: +94 117 992 022

Conference Secretariat:

Mr.R.M.K.S Chandana
Tel: +94 117 992 022
Fax: +94 112 873 371
Hotline (whatsapp/Viber): +94 76 573 3737

Anusha Edirisinghe Gender Sexuality Conference

Dr. E.A.D. Anusha Edirisinghe

Director, Center for Gender Studies
Senior Lecturer (Criminology)
Department of Sociology
University of Kelaniya
Sri Lanka

In the year 2000, Dr Anusha Edirisinghe graduated in B.A.Special (sociology & Criminology & criminal Justice) at the University of Sri Jayewardenepura. She obtained her MA & Ph.D. in Criminology at the University of Uppsala in Sweden & medical Faculty of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura. She is the first lady in Sri Lanka who has completed her Ph.D. in Criminology.

As a social work, she is fighting for crime prevention in society. To appreciate her work, University of American National Business has awarded her with an Honorary Professorship on 27th July at Global Tower, Wellawatta. Chief guest Mr. Buddika Pathirana, Acting Minister of the cabinet, & Local and foreign guests participated for the occasion.

At present, she is working as a senior lecturer at the Department of Social Science at University of Kelaniya.  As well as she is the current Director of the Center for Gender Studies. She also represents Sri Lanka as a member of the SAARC Gender Advisory Group. She is the secretary of the Asian Crime Prevention Foundation which is an affiliate with the United Nations.

She is working as a resource person in developing the curriculum & improving the quality of the officers at The Sri Lankan Police & The Department of Prison. She is also a commentator working on preventing violence against women and children from the ground up. She is a member of the National Women’s Committee and has contributed to the prevention of injustice in women, and has published several books and research. She is a member of the National Women’s Committee and has contributed to the prevention of injustice in women, and has published several books and research. She is a member of the National Women’s Committee and has contributed to the prevention of injustice in women, and has published several books and research.

She is a project member of UNESCO in creating Gender equality for teachers.  And also she gave her present to Prime Minister’s Task Force to prevent violence against women as well she is the first secretary of Sri Lanka Social Scientist’s Association. At present, she is mentoring the developing process of a curriculum for post graduate officers in the department of community based corrections, Ministry of Justice. She spends her time and energy in lecturing at Sri Lanka Police Research Unit and at the Police Training College. She got her primary education from Rathnapura Niwithigala Yakdehiwatta viduhala and her secondary education from Karawita Central College & Ferguson High School.

Scientific Reviewers

The Scientific Committee consists of the experts in the field from many different countries in the world. The Committee Members evaluate your abstracts and provide insights to improve those further. According to the final decision given by them, you would be able to process further tasks for attending the conference.

Scientific Committee

Dr. Ishrat Khan, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh

Prof. Divya Saksena, IMS Unison University, India

Dr. P.Pretheeba, Eastern University, Sri Lanka

Dr. Nur Syakiran Akmal ,Universiti Utara Malaysia, Malaysia

Dr. Lida Kavousi, Allameh Tabataba’i University, Iran

Dr. Geeta Patel, University of Virginiya, USA

Dr. Hamideh Addelyan Rasi, Allameh Tabataba’i University, Iran

Dr. Melissa Tombro, Fashion Institute of Technology, USA

Dr. Sudeshan Ghosh, Scottish Church College,India

Dr. Abhishek Mishra, The University of Burdwan, India

Dr. Naorem Arunibala Devi, Independent Researcher, India

Prof. Dr. Mansee Bal Bhargava, Environmental Design Consultants, India

Prof. Pushpesh Kumar, University of Hyderabad Hyderabad, India

Prof. Omnia Amin, Zayed University,UAE

Dr. Rubeena Batool, University of Balochistan,Pakistan

Prof. Charles Nzioka,University of Nairobi, Kenya

Dr. Preya Pillay,University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Dr. Bhoke Chacha,University of Nairobi, Kenya

Dr. Rita Bencivenga,Trinty Collage,Ireland

Dr.Innocent Mwatsiya,University of Johannesburg,South Africa